Understanding Users: Building a user-centric product and culture

January 10- February 2, 2023
Tuesdays and Thursdays  (90 minute live sessions)

07:00 San Francisco, 16:00 Berlin, 20:30 Delhi, 22:00 Jakarta

Write your awesome label here.

Course features

  • Instructor:
    Paul G Harwood

  • Course dates:
    Jan 10- Feb 2, 2023 

  • Session length 
    90 minutes
  • Format:
    Online/Cohort
  • Experience:
    No prior experience required
  • 349


What you will learn

  • How the users’ voice informs product design and build
  • How to talk and listen to your users
  • How user research is conducted, including how to write an interview guide and survey instrument. 
  • Basic principles of user growth 

Skills

  • User Research
  • Qualitative analysis 
  • Quantitative analysis 
  • Product Strategy

Course Overview

This course provides the necessary foundational knowledge and skills to build a user centric culture and product.

In this course, you’ll learn ‘how-to’ user centric skills. Skills you and your team can apply immediately at work.  

You’ll learn: 

  • How to talk and listen to users and non-users 
  • How to write the questions you want to ask (how-to write an interview guide) 
  • How to design a quantitative survey questionnaire 
  • How to conduct qualitative user interviews legally and safely
  • How to field a quantitative survey legally and safely
  • How to marry qualitative and quantitative insights to address salient user problems
  • How to build a user centric growth strategy 
  • How to ensure a user centric culture as your team and company grows. 


You will apply many of these how-to skills as you go. For example, during the course, you will write an interview guide that addresses a current user problem you and your team are currently working on at work. You'll have the opportunity to meet 1-on-1 with the instructor to discuss your specific interview guide to ensure you're asking questions that will produce actionable insights.

By the end of this course you will:   

  • Gain an understanding of the importance of user attitudes, behavior and the role international markets play in explaining why users have different attitudes and behaviors globally. 
  • Evaluate the necessity of user understanding across all areas of growth: user adoption, retention, monetization and user protection. 
  • Design both an interview guide and survey questionnaire on a topic of your choice. 
  • Evaluate the role of user research in product design and growth strategy.
  • Have the ‘how-to’ skills necessary to build a user centric culture and product.


Regardless of your current business role, this course will help you understand the importance of users and ensure you help build a user centric culture and a product that delivers on user needs.
Created with